Chemistry at Illinois University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

The Department of Chemistry at the University of Illinois

Peter C. and Gretchen Miller Markunas Professorship Fund

The Peter C. and Gretchen Miller Markunas Professorship Fund supports a professorship in the Department of Chemistry. Dr. Catherine Murphy is currently the Markunas Professor of Chemistry.

Dr. Peter Markunas earned his MS and PhD from the Department of Chemistry. After graduation, he worked in the chemical research department of National Distillers of Cincinnati and performed research on penicillin for U.S. Troops during World War II. From 1952-1972 he led the analytical chemical research department at R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Co. in Winston-Salem, NC. After his retirement from R. J. Reynolds, he became involved in farmland and soybean research in Springfield, IL. Gretchen Miller Markunas earned her teaching certification from Illinois State Normal University in 1932. She was an employee in the Sangamon County school system until 1941 when she married Peter Markunas. Both Dr. and Mrs. Markkunas were life members of the Illinois Alumni Association and the University of Illinois President’s Council. Dr. Markunas was an emeritus member of the American Chemical Society, American Association for the Advancement of Science, and Sigma Xi, the Scientific Research Society.

Click here to make a donation to the
Markunas Professorship Fund