Chemistry at Illinois University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Department of Chemistry News

Recent Headlines
Martin Gruebele

Now Researchers Can See How Unfolded Proteins Move in the Cell

The Gruebele research group has developed a way to watch how unfolded proteins move through a cell using a fluorescent microscope and three-dimensional diffusion modeling.

SACNAS Chapter Receives Award

The local chapter of SACNAS received the SACNAS 2014 Outstanding Partnerships/Collaborations/Networks Award at their national meeting in Los Angeles, California.

2014 SACNAS National Conference local chapter photo
Dr. Peter Senter photo

Alumnus Peter Senter (PhD, 1981) Receives LAS Alumni Achievement Award

Dr. Senter is a recipient of a LAS Alumni Achievement Award for his breakthrough research in the use of antibodies to target cancer cells without destroying nearby healthy cells.

Team Discovers How Microbes Build a Powerful Antibiobic

In a study reported in Nature, the van der Donk and Nair groups discovered unexpected chemistry during the biosynthesis of the food preservative nisin.

photo Manuel Ortega, Wilfred van der Donk, Yue Hao, Satish Nair, Mark Walker
Paul Hergenrother photo

Hergenrother Named a 2014 University Scholar

The University of Illinois recognizes Professor Hergenrother's extraordinary research in the molecular basis of disease especially in his ongoing studies on increasing the survival rates in several deadly cancer types.

Departmental News

Faculty News

Student News

Alumni News and Updates