Nancy Makri

Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Professor Professor of Chemistry and Professor of Physics University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Office: 355D Noves Laboratory, 505 S. Mathews Avenue, Urbana, Illinois 61801

Phone: (217) 333-6589 Fax: (217) 244-3186

Email: nmakri@illinois.edu

URL: http://makri.scs.illinois.edu/

PERSONAL

Born: September 5, 1962; Athens, Greece

Citizenship: United States

Married: Martin Gruebele, 1992

Children: Alexander (born 1994) and Valerie (born 1997)

EDUCATION

B.S.: Chemistry, March 1985, University of Athens

Ph.D.: Chemistry, May 1989, University of California at Berkeley

EMPLOYMENT

Member, Illinois Quantum Information and Technology Center, 2021-present

Affiliate, Computational Science and Engineering Program, 2018-present

Affiliate, Beckman Institute for Advanced Science and Technology, 2001-present

Edward William and Jane Marr Gutgsell Professor, 2008-present

Professor, Department of Physics, University of Illinois, 2000-present

Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Illinois, 1999-present

Associate Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Illinois, 1996-98

Assistant Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Illinois, 1992-96

Visiting Scientist, AT&T Bell Laboratories, summer 1990

Junior Fellow, Society of Fellows, Harvard University, 1989-91

Research Assistant, Department of Chemistry, University of California at Berkeley, 1985-89

Research Fellow, National Hellenic Research Foundation, Athens, 1984-85

RESEARCH INTERESTS

Theory of condensed phase quantum dynamics. Development of real-time path integral and simulation methods. Barrier crossing, tunneling, nonadiabatic dynamics and coherence. Proton and electron transfer in solution and in biological environments. Dynamics of quantum fluids. Charge transport in molecular nanostructures. Excitation energy transfer in molecular aggregates. Spin-vibration dynamics.

AWARDS AND HONORS

Member, National Academy of Sciences (elected 2023)

American Chemical Society Award in Theoretical Chemistry, 2023

Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences (elected 2021)

Physical Chemistry Division Award in Theoretical Chemistry, American Chemical Society, 2021

School of Chemical Sciences Teaching Award, University of Illinois, 2020

The 2019 Löwdin Lecturer, Uppsala University, Sweden

Association of Greek Chemists 100th IUPAC Anniversary Award, Athens, 2019

On the list of teachers ranked as excellent, fall 2000, spring 2002, spring 2007, spring 2009, fall 2010, fall 2011, spring 2012, spring 2014, fall 2016, fall 2017, spring 2018, fall 2019, fall 2022

The 2011 Distinguished Lecture in Theoretical/Computational Chemistry, University of California at San Diego

Member, International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science (elected 2010)

The 2006-07 Joe L. Franklin Memorial Lecturer, Department of Chemistry, Rice University

The 2005-06 H. Willard Davis Lecturer, Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry, University of South Carolina

Baker Theory Symposium Lecturer: "Frontiers in Theoretical Chemistry", Cornell University, 2005

Associate, Center for Advanced Study, University of Illinois, spring 2006

Arnold O. Beckman Research Award, University of Illinois Research Board, 2003

Fellow, American Physical Society, 2001

Bodossaki Academic Prize in Physical Sciences, 2000

University Scholar, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, 1999

Agnes Fay Morgan Research Award, Iota Sigma Pi, 1999

Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science, 1998

Camille Dreyfus Teacher-Scholar Award, Camille and Henry Dreyfus Foundation, 1997

Annual Medal of the International Academy of Quantum Molecular Science, 1995

Cottrell Scholar Award, Research Corporation, 1994

Sloan Research Fellowship, Alfred Sloan Foundation, 1994

Packard Fellowship for Science and Engineering, David and Lucile Packard Foundation, 1993

National Science Foundation Young Investigator Award, 1993

Beckman Fellow, Center for Advanced Study, 1993-94

Beckman Young Investigator Award, Arnold and Mabel Beckman Foundation, 1993

The William F. Milton Fund Award, Harvard University, 1990

Junior Fellow, Society of Fellows, Harvard University, 1989-92

The Bernard Friedman Memorial Prize in Applied Mathematics, Department of Mathematics, University of California at Berkeley, 1988

Anna Louise Hoffman Award for Outstanding Achievement in Graduate Research, Iota Sigma Pi, 1988

Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Awards, Department of Chemistry, University of California at Berkeley, spring 1987 and fall 1987

University Fellowships, University of California at Berkeley, 1986-87 and 1987-88

Chemistry Fellowship, University of California at Berkeley, 1985-86

Honorary Scholarships for Outstanding Achievement in the Department of Chemistry, the State Scholarships Institute of Greece, all academic years

Ranked first in the Greek national entrance examination to the Department of Chemistry and the School of Physical and Mathematical Sciences, 1980

PROFESSIONAL SERVICE

Conference Organizer/Co-organizer:

Symposium on Synthesizing Quantum Coherence, Fall 2021 American Chemical Society Meeting (co-organizer); International Congress of Quantum Chemistry, International Scientific Board, 2018; Midwest Conference on Theoretical Chemistry, Urbana, May 2013 (co-organizer); Quantum Molecular Dynamics, Berkeley, January 2012; Frontiers of Theoretical Chemistry: CATMS Symposium, University of Illinois, May 2006; Quantum Dynamics of Condensed Phase Systems, Crete, June 2002; Chemical Dynamics Symposium, Berkeley, March 2001; Midwest Conference on Theoretical Chemistry, Beckman Institute, Urbana, May 1997

Professional Service:

East-Central Illinois Section of the American Chemical Society, 1992-94 Scientific Committee, Bodossaki Foundation, 2022-2024

Editorial Appointments:

Divisional Associate Editor, Physical Review Letters, 2003-2005; Advisory Editorial Board, Journal of Computational Chemistry, 2005-2011; Editorial Advisory Board, Journal of Chemical Theory and Computation, 2005-2014; Editorial Board, The Journal of Chemical Physics, 2009-2011; Editorial Advisory Board, The Journal of Physical Chemistry, 2020-2022; Editorial Board, International Journal of Molecular Science, 2020-2022